Tags

,

I recently heard “The Colour and the Shape – Special Edition,”
the 10th anniversary reissue of the Foo Fighters second album,
originally released under the Roswell records label in 1997.

Dave Grohl played virtually all of the parts on the first album;
therefore, technically it wasn’t a “band” effort. With this album,
the other three band members participated for the first time.
The result was a 46-minute disc, which still may be their
most commercially successful effort. I remember hearing the
songs, “My Hero” and “Everlong” from this album on the radio;
although other hits probably also received airplay.

“The Colour and the Shape – Special Edition” definitely has their
first album beat by a considerable margin; however, I still can’t
honestly say that I like the music that much. Nevertheless,
fans of the band will really appreciate the six bonus tracks
that are added for this reissue, bringing the total time of
this CD to about 70 minutes. One of the tracks is a cover of
“Baker Street.” A booklet with lyrics and an essay by bassist
Nate Mandel is included, along with photos of the band members.
Even though I’m not crazy about this style of Rock, I’ll still
make an effort to check out their third album.

